

Appointment and Compensation

Appointment

The Commission is made up of staff of public service employees and members, who are appointed by Cabinet. The members consist of a chair, one or more vice-chairs, and other members. The Chair and Vice Chair and Registrar full-time for the Commission. All other Vice Chairs and members work part-time.

The Chair holds a full-time position and is the general administrator of the Commission and its office. They are responsible for the overall management, strategic planning, direction, and performance of the Commission and its office. The Chair also serves as the Chair of two appeal bodies that work out of the same office: Environmental Appeal Board and Energy Resource Appeal Tribunal.

The Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. The Chair encourages the fair and efficient resolution of appeals. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

The Vice Chair and Registrar leads the registry shared by the eight review/appeal bodies in the Commission's office, under the direction of the Chair. The Vice Chair and Registrar also provides other management and strategic direction for the Commission and its office.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>Treasury Board Directive 1/24</u>, based on how it classifies the Commission. The Commission is in the third out of five categories.

Compensation of members for the 2023/2024 fiscal year are as follows:

Full Time Appointees¹					
Chair	Compensation		Vice Chair	Compensation	
Darrell Le Houillier	\$73,942		David Bird	\$62,657	
Total Remuneration (Fu	\$136,599				

Part time Appointees					
Member	Compensation		Member	Compensation	
Maureen Baird, K.C.	\$14,600		Ian Miller	\$16,272	
Shannon Bentley	\$21,938		Bijan Pourkarimi	0	
James Carwana	\$67,060		Howard M. Saunders	0	
Subodh Chandra	\$6,310		Daphne Stancil	\$8,185	
Jeffrey Hand	\$29,200		Norman Tarnow	0	
Gary Lin	\$3,150		R. Michael Tourigny	\$20,805	
Cynthia Lu	\$3,285		Diana Valiela	0	
Linda Michaluk	\$6,577		Reginald Whiten	\$3,218	
Total Remuneration (Pa	\$200,600				
Total Remuneration (Full and Part-Time Appointees)				\$337,199	

¹ Reimbursement for the full-time appointees is split evenly between the three appeal bodies over which these appointees are responsible: the Environmental Appeal Board, the Forest Appeals Commission, and the Energy Resource Appeal Tribunal.